PAT's APC underway in Lahore to discuss Model Town tragedy

Dr Tahirul Qadri says the APC is being held on a single point agenda to discuss Model Town tragedy.

LAHORE (Dunya News) - An All Parties Conference (APC) hosted by Pakistan Awami Tehreek begins at Minhaj-ul Quran Secretariat in Model Town.

Talking to media, Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) chief Dr Tahirul Qadri said that APC is being held on a single point agenda to discuss Model Town tragedy.

Delegations of different political parties including Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Awami Muslim League (AML) All Pakistan Muslim League (APML) and others have arrived in Model Town to attend the APC.

On Saturday, PMLQ, MQM SIC, MWM and others accepted PAT’s invitation to join its All Parties Conference (APC) over Model Town tragedy. Jamiat Ulama-e-Islam Sami (JUI-S) excused from participation while Manzoor Wattoo said Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) did not get the invitation, Dunya News reported.

Addressing media after meeting Tahirul Qadri at Minhaj-ul-Quran secretariat, PMLQ’s Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi said that neither Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif resigned, nor was the FIR over the incident lodged. He said APC will be on one-point agenda.

Shah Mehmood Qureshi and Mahmood-ul-Rasheed will represent PTI at APC. Awami Muslim League (AML)’s Sheikh Rasheed will also participate.

MQM also accepted the invitation. According to its spokesperson, MQM’s delegate will join the conference.

JUI-S’s Maulana Samiul Haq excused from participation.

PPP’s Manzoor Wattoo said PPP hasn’t received an invitation yet, adding that party’s central leadership will decide if invited.

All arrangements have been completed for the meeting to be held at Pakistan Awami Tehreek’s Model Town Secretariat.

The APC would discuss the June 17 tragedy in which more than a dozen PAT workers were killed and 90 others injured during clash when police tried to remove barricades outside Minhajul Quran Secretariat.

The government has set up a judicial commission to probe the PAT boycotted the proceedings of the commission and demanded to form another judicial commission comprising three SC judges.